Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A new day with new adventures. Today it is cloudy and around 16 degrees. Brrrr, these 11 days in NZ has been mostly cold and cloudy. If I would have known the weather should be like this the whole time I would have brought more warm clothes than I did.

Hobbiton Movie Set
We had breakfast inside the van again, too chilly outside. Packed us up and then we drove away to Hobbit land. Jossan
ordered our tickets yesterday, it was 79 dollars each. It was just a 45 minute drive from Rotorua, so it was rather close. The last few miles before getting there we started to see a LOT of sheep, 13 000 we learnt a bit later. Like white dots on every green hill. Looked like a pattern really. We saw a lot of cows as well and I must say, I’d rather be a cow in New Zealand than being one in Texas. Outside Amarillo, Texas, they had thousands of cows walking around in just plain dirt. Smelled so bad and I felt so sorry for all of them. Here in New Zealand, all the cows (and there are a lot here as well) are walking on green grass, nice hills and beautiful surroundings. It is so very different from the dirty soil in Texas. So my choice is made. If I ever get re-born as a cow, I hope it will be in NZ. But if I get to chose, I’d rather be a sheep in NZ, they are so fluffy and cute, running around like goats in the hills. OK, now back to our trip. 😀

We took the 12.30 tour to the Hobbiton Movie Set and our guide was Rosie. She was a great guide, told us so many things about the place, the movies, the scenes, filming technique, rekvesitaxxxx, actors etc. Everything was so cute in that village, I would LOVE to live there but unfortunally I am too tall. You have to be under 1.60 meters to live there, hahahahahaha. So Jossan is the only one in our family that actually can be allowed to live there and then I could come visit her, in these super-beautiful surroundings! J The tour ended in the bar The Green Dragon where we got to chose something to drink. We all had an apple cider each. The cider here in NZ is VERY good, not as sweet as they are at home, more dry. Finally, I can say I really loved the tour and would recommend it to everyone but of course mainly for those who have seen the movies and/or read the books.

Our excellent guide Rosie at the Hobbiton Movie Set

Our excellent guide Rosie at the Hobbiton Movie Set

Thinking about moving in

Thinking about moving in

Me and Jossan visiting the hobbits

Me and Jossan visiting the hobbits

Time for a cider at The Green Dragon

Time for a cider at The Green Dragon

Severe shopping
I ended up in the shop and found the most beautiful orange/brown poncho, made of wool and with a fur collar, so finally I got to buy a typical souvenir from here. It was rather expensive, 2XX dollars, but it was sure worth it. I also bought a crème colored boa for 30, also made of fur. Have been thinking of buying one of those for several years and now I did. It will be extra an extra great felling to have one from New Zealand.

Going west to Raglan
After Hobbiton we drove out west to a small town called Raglan and there we stayed at a Holiday park, not the Top 10, this one was just called Holiday Park. The weather was not that nice otherwise I think it would have been a great place to stay in. Really close to the long, black sand beach.

Had dinner = next pack of gluten free pancakes, took a stroll on the beach and then chilled in the van. Jossan started packing, she is the super perfect vacation planner, always ahead of us! J

Nighty night!

