Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Day number 5 in NZ. My throat is sour and aching. Bläääää ☹

Had the alarm clock on “sivin” as they would say here in New Zealand. All e:s becomes i:s. They really have so special kind of English here. Well, well, up we jumped and then we had the best meal of the day, The Breakfast. Mmmmmmm, lovely. Packed up everything and left the Hot Water Beach Camping, heading north for the Cathedral Cove Trail.

Cathedral Cove Trail
It was a 30 minutes beautiful walk downhill to the beach and this time I had decided that I would go swimming. And so I did.

Jossan and Jörgen heading for Cathedral Cove

Jossan and Jörgen heading for Cathedral Cove

Cathedral Cove

Cathedral Cove

Of course I had to go for a swim and my guess is that the water temperatur was 16 degrees. Brrrrr

Of course I had to go for a swim and my guess is that the water temperatur was 16 degrees. Brrrrr

I was the only one in the water

I was the only one in the water

I am getting tired of the bad weather deciding for me what to do and what not to do. It was freezing cold, around 16 degrees C but still, it was very nice. Clear, green water. And so good for my psoriasis, it is like medicin, the best treatment ever, salt water and sun. But now the sun was missing but at least I got half of it, the salty sea water. The beach was lovely with white sand, so we stayed there for maybe half an hour and then we headed back up again. Jörgen really has to start moving. He gets tired really fast when walking up- and downhill.

People digging at Hot water Beach

People digging at Hot water Beach

Hot Water Beach
In the afternoon we visited the Hot Water Beach. This is a beach that has hot water streaming out of it at a few square meters. And these square meters were FULL of enthusiastic people digging holes for themselves to sit in. I sat down in a ready made hole and it was not warm at all. Well, well, what is so special about this, I wondered. Until Jörgen said: Come over here. Here the water is close to boiling. SO I moved, found a new hole in the sand to siyt in, and Oh My God, was it hot!!? Jepp, it sure was. Took a while to get used to the warmth but then I had a great hole sitting time! 😉 when leaving the hole I was completely RED on the back of my thighs. Jörgen and Jossan thought I had close to burnt them but it was not a problem. They are so sensitive. That is what happens to people that are not from Kolbäck1! 😉 Hahahahahaha.

The best nachos EVER

The best nachos EVER

Ginger beer

Ginger beer

After the beach we were really hungry so we went to this little café that served the BEST NACHOS EVER. Sooooo delicious. I love nachos!!! We also had the company of a hen there, strolling around our legs, looking for food. Jossan and me had Ginger beer together with the nachos, and that really made this delicious meal complete.

Me and ABB

Me and ABB

Forgot to tell you, when going to the café we passed an ABB cubicle. Ohhh, how nice. Felt like home to me. ABB is really everywhere. Had to give that little cubicle a hug and then we could continue our walk! 😉

Waihi beach
We got back into the van and headed south for around 100 km to a place called Waihi beach. Luckely I was in the back of the van cause Jörgen said afterwards that this road was REALLY curvy. And steep. And that I do not like! AT ALL!

And now, at last, it seems the weather is finally switching over to a bit of warmth. It is really windy, half storm I would say, but a nice temperature.

In the afternoon, we slept for a while since Jossan has a stomach ache and then I took a shower. Soo very nice. Tonight we are staying at another top 10 Holiday Parks and this one is super good. Has a pool and the area is very well organized. And the beach should be fantastic, so we heard. We will probably visit it tomorrow morning for a morning stroll! 🙂

Jossans  stomach ache started around 4 and around 6 it got even more intense. She took 2 alvedon and it did not help at all. Around 22.30 I went out and talked to the man in the reception about where to find a doctor or a hospital. The local doctor was of course closed and the closest hospital was 45 minutes from here. Went back and gave Jossan 2 new tablets, one treo and one paracetamole kind of thing. Then I also massaged her back. The pain got a bit easier to handle and we both fell asleep. We then woke up at 00.00, and changed for the night and went back to sleep.

Poor Jossan, this pain was really intense and lasted for several hours.

