Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Finally it feels like I have some energy for projects. Haven’t had that for quite a while now, the house project took away all the energy and ever since the workers left the house I have not felt like doing ANYTHING at all. Just being! Doing nothing! But now I actually have done a few projects and it feels so great.

The lamp project
I got a lamp from my mother, a beautiful lamp from the 50-ies or 60-ies. Everything is original but the lampshades. So my project was to get them back to the original look, or as close as possible.

The beautiful lamp that I am about to restore

The beautiful lamp that I am about to restore

The lamp project is on the way

The lamp project is on the way, was tricky to get it right

Two ready, one more to go

Two ready, one more to go

By the third lampshade, I was an expert

By the third lampshade, I was an expert

The lamp is ready

The lamp is ready

These lamps had shades made by plastic ribbons, each lamp in a separate color. This one was red, yellow and one more color which I have forgotten. Maybe blue or green? BUT, I want them all to be the same color and I want them black. So I ordered black plastic ribbons (15 mm) from Panduro and started winding. It was a tricky work, how to start and how to stop and also having all that ribbon to handle while holding the lampshade and the ribbon with a really good grip. Each shade took about 1 – 1,5 hours. But it was completely worth it, I love this lamp and I am very happy with the result. 🙂

The table project
We have had this little table for many years now and te surface was kind of ugly. Rings from glasses that was impossible to get rid of. so, I made up my mind. I will paint it black and I did.

Before

Before

After

After

I think it looks much better, actually it is like getting a completely new table. Kind of lifts the whole room. The only drawback was that I did not have enough light when painting, and also, the quality of the brush was low, so some hairs from the brush is now firmly painted onto my table. Well, well, I will have better light when my next painting project starts. That might actually be one more of these tables, since we have two of them.

The sleigh bell project
When I was a child, my grandmother and grandfather who used to be farmers, had old sleigh bells of theirs at the entrance of their house (in the hall). I always thought it was so beautiful and ever since then I have been wishing for sleigh bells for my own house. And now I have bought one and I am so very happy. When Christmas comes around the corner I will decorate our entrance to the living room with these beautiful sleigh bells and while enjoying the sound of it, I will think about my dear grandma and grandpa. Every Christmas. 🙂

Sleigh bells

Sleigh bells, memories from my childhood

