Tags

, , , , ,

Is is kind of a family tradition to go horseback riding when visiting US. Last time was in The Rocky Mountains in Jackson Hole and this time we went to Old West Stables in Palo Duro Canyon. Yep, we’re back at the canyon again. 🙂

Frukostvåfflor i form av Texas

Frukostvåfflor i form av Texas

Jörgens boots, numera inridna

Jörgens boots, numera inridna

Jag och Domino i Palo Duro Canyon

Jag och Domino i Palo Duro Canyon

We came to the park and had to enter a park fee of $20 and when we did, we had a chat with the man at the entrance. We came to discuss the road downhill, of which I nearly died by fear travelling yesterday. I sincerly hate mountain roads. 😦 And when going down yesterday, we had to pass a big kind of RV that stood by the side of the road, in a somewhat strange angle and with the front in a big stone. Today the man told us that that vehicle lost its brakes going downhill yesterday. OMG, it actually happens. And that driver must have had a gardian angle travelling with him. Today they had to get two really big cranes in there to be able to get the RV out. Didn’t make me feel any safer, listening to that horrible story before, once more, going downhill in a too old car whos brake oil lamp yesterday indicated brake failure (orange light lid)!! Jörgen filled it up with brake oil saying things like:
– I think we should fill oil into this hole….or, I am not sure! Not that comforting, I would say!!! :-((( But it all went well. We came down and up yesterday as well as today.

We had a one hour ride that started at 10.30 and although it was a good temperature when we started the ride, it was sooo disgustingly hot at the end. But it was worth it. I rode Domino and he was “the perfect horse”, I think. Easy to ride, attended to my moves, listened to me and also alert. Soooo nice. What a perfect couple we made!!!! 🙂

Drove home (we adapt reallly fast and call the present location “home”, just after being there a few hours) with the roof top down, and I thought I would die of heat stroke (or whatever it is called). SO, I did what I had to do to survive. I did a Philip Wallin! And doing a Philip Wallin (my brothers oldest son) is that you just hop out of your pants and sit in the car in your underware. Saved my life today!! 🙂

The Andersson Family at Palo Duro Canyon

The Andersson Family at Palo Duro Canyon

Laundry time
Did some loundry in the afternoon. All the horse smelling clothes and some t-shirts and underware. They had great working loundry machines at the hotel and the detergent was included in the price. Blogged and surfed when waiting for the machines to get ready. The dryers were both broken so after hanging it all up, the whole hotel room was filled with wet clothes, hahahaha, what a beautiful sight.

Hoffbrau Steaks, the best meal so far
In the evening J & J & me walked to the Hoffbrau Steaks, a steakhouse about 1,5 km from our hotel (Holiday Inn Amarillo West Medical Center). Robin stayed at the hotel, sleeping. This restaurant was just GREAT. They had a specific glutenfree menu (which they couldn’t find, but no worries, the owner came out and told me everything about what and what not to eat). I had a salad with a dream dressing (spicey ranch), filét, some grilled shrimps, baked potatos, extra butter on the side, two glasses of red wine and to finish it all up, an american “nearly not angles pee” coffee. OMG, it was the best meal I have had since arriving to U.S.

